New skis!

I caved and bought myself skis!

I really wanted to have a go on the snowpark, given my recent adventures in skateparks, but my hire skis were pretty dire (seasonnaires get given the worst skis, as we’re more likely to trash them by the end of season) and I didn’t feel confident that they’d hold up to the park.

So a couple of weeks of research, and a small wait for payday and I ordered some skis from trusty Ellis Brigham.

DSC_0880.JPG
Very much in the same colours as my roller skates…whoops

They are Roxy Ily skis with Roxy Xpress 11 bindings (which are Rossignol bindings – I’m not sure if actually the whole set up is Rossignol but branded as Roxy?). Anyway, they’re light and springy twin tips – a little longer than I’ve used in the past at 164cm which is taking a little getting used to, but so far so good! They are definitely better for skiing backwards, which I’m trying to develop so I can hopefully bust out a 180 off a small box eventually. Fingers crossed 🙂

I went to the snowpark for the first time the other day, and while I’m extremely rubbish, I had fun – managed to slide and eventually jump off some boxes, and also went off the 3 small kickers a few times. I need work on judging my speed mostly – I’m taking it too careful!

Now when’s payday? I am hella broke!

Leave a comment